The 2010 Man Booker Prize Winner

Howard Jacobson has won the 2010 Man Booker Prize for The Finkler Question.  I loved Galgut’s In a Strange Room, but I’m very happy that The Finkler Question won.

This year was a good year for me.  Of the four shortlisters I read, I would have been happy had In a Strange Room, The Finkler Question, or C won.  Had Parrot and Olivier in America won, I would have at least said they gave it to a good writer, even if I didn’t particularly enjoy the book.

3 thoughts on “The 2010 Man Booker Prize Winner”

  1. Lee Monks says:

    I echo those thoughts: Galgut’s was the best of the books on there but I’m more than happy for Jacobson to take the award.

  2. Trevor says:

    An interesting note that shows how much I enjoyed both the Jacobson and the Galgut (my first book, in each case) is that after finishing the book I immediately went out and bought some of their backlists. Now, if I knew how to fit the books into my reading . . .

  3. Maire says:

    I agree wholeheartedly. I’m so pleased FINKLER won.I haven’t read Galgut’s book yet but I want to and I’m heartened to hear you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply