At the end of 1933, Patrick Leigh Fermor’s dream of setting up as a writer in London wasn’t becoming a reality. Struck with the idea, he decided to leave his troubles behind and walk across Europe to Constantinople as a tramp. He was only eighteen. World War I was barely a memory, and he didn’t yet know what to make of Hitler’s rise to power in Germany. Nearly a lifetime later, Leigh Fermor wrote about this trip in a planned trilogy. Originally published in 1977, A Time of Gifts is the first volume, and it takes us from London, to the Hook of Holland and to Hungary.

NYRB Classics published their edition of A Time of Gifts in October 2005, and it is the book we’ll be talking about in Episode 2 of The Mookse and the Gripes Podcast.

In Episode 3 we will be discussing Milton Rokeach’s The Three Christs of Ypsilanti.

Show Notes (1:06:19)

  • Intro
  • Brief Patrick Leigh Fermor Bio: 03:31
  • Main Discussion: 05:18

Some links:

Episode Credits:

  • Co-Host Trevor Berrett
  • Co-Host Brian Berrett
  • Introduction Music — “Where We Fall We’ll Lie” by Jeff Zentner, from his album The Dying Days of Summer (used with permission)
  • Outro Music — “Promise Me That You Will Never Die” by Jeff Zentner, from his album Hymns to the Darkness (used with permission)
Liked it? Take a second to support The Mookse and the Gripes on Patreon!
By |2016-07-29T18:45:08-04:00October 27th, 2012|Categories: Patrick Leigh Fermor, Podcast|2 Comments


  1. Tam July 1, 2016 at 5:28 am

    I just finished reading the third book and absolutely loved the whole trilogy. Even though you posted this almost 4 years ago it was great to listen to your discussion, and to hear people who share my enthusiasm for Fermor’s writing – so thanks for posting.

  2. Trevor Berrett July 1, 2016 at 1:01 pm

    Thanks, Tam! It’s always good to hear what people think of the book and our own enthusiasm!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.