- The Mookse and the Gripes - http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews -

Alice Munro: Dance of the Happy Shades

Posted By Trevor Berrett On February 1, 2013 @ 12:59 am In Munro Alice | 1 Comment

I got so much out of reading and reviewing over time each story in Munro’s newest collection, Dear Life (see here [1]), that I’ve decided to go back to the beginning and do the same with her first collection of short stories, Dance of the Happy Shades (1968), some of which will be very familiar as similar events and themes came out in Munro’s “finale” to Dear Life, those four “autobiographical” stories that concluded that collection.

Dance-of-the-Happy-Shades

This will be the anchor post, an index with links to my reviews of each story in this collection, which will be popping up here over the coming weeks and months. When all is said and done, I will update the bottom of this post to give some thoughts on the collection as a whole.

Dance of the Happy Shades contains fifteen stories:


Article printed from The Mookse and the Gripes: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews

URL to article: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/02/01/alice-munro-dance-of-the-happy-shade/

URLs in this post:

[1] here: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2012/11/13/alice-munro-dear-life/

[2] Walker Brothers Cowboy: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/02/01/alice-munro-walker-brothers-cowboy/

[3] The Shining Houses: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/02/07/alice-munro-the-shining-houses/

[4] Images : http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/02/13/alice-munro-images/

[5] Thanks for the Ride: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/02/20/alice-munro-thanks-for-the-ride/

[6] The Office : http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/03/07/alice-munro-the-office/

[7] An Ounce of Cure: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/03/12/alice-munro-an-ounce-of-cure/

[8] The Time of Death: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/03/15/alice-munro-the-time-of-death/

[9] Day of the Butterfly: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/03/19/alice-munro-day-of-the-butterfly/

[10] Boys and Girls: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/03/22/alice-munro-boys-and-girls/

[11] Postcard: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/03/26/alice-munro-postcard/

[12] Red Dress — 1946: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/03/28/alice-munro-red-dress-1946/

[13] Sunday Afternoon: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/04/02/alice-munro-sunday-afternoon/

[14] A Trip to the Coast: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/04/04/alice-munro-a-trip-to-the-coast/

[15] The Peace of Utrecht: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/04/10/alice-munro-the-peace-of-utrecht/

[16] Dance of the Happy Shades: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/04/11/alice-munro-dance-of-the-happy-shades/

[17] Share: #

[18] Email: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/02/01/alice-munro-dance-of-the-happy-shade/?share=email

[19] Print: http://mookseandgripes.com/reviews/2013/02/01/alice-munro-dance-of-the-happy-shade/#print

[20] Share on Tumblr: http://www.tumblr.com/share/link/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fmookseandgripes.com%2Freviews%2F2013%2F02%2F01%2Falice-munro-dance-of-the-happy-shade%2F&name=Alice%20Munro%3A%20%3Cem%3EDance%20of%20the%20Happy%20Shades%3C%2Fem%3E

[21] Image: http://pinterest.com/pin/create/button/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fmookseandgripes.com%2Freviews%2F2013%2F02%2F01%2Falice-munro-dance-of-the-happy-shade%2F&description=Alice%20Munro%3A%20%3Cem%3EDance%20of%20the%20Happy%20Shades%3C%2Fem%3E

Copyright © 2014 The Mookse and the Gripes. All rights reserved.