The Story Prize Finalists

I missed it earlier this week, but the finalists for The Story Prize were announced (see here for the official announcement).

  • Archangel, by Andrea Barrett
  • Bobcat, by Rebecca Lee
  • Tenth of December, by George Saunders

My vote goes to Archangel, by Andrea Barrett. Though I should admit I have not read the entirety of any of these collections (and not a word of Bobcat), so I’m speaking from my biases there. I’m a big fan of Andrea Barrett’s work.

This year, The Story Prize also gave out The Story Prize Spotlight Award to Byzantium, by Ben Stroud. This award for $1,000 goes to “a short story collection worthy of additional attention.”

3 thoughts on “The Story Prize Finalists

  1. I missed that announcement too: thanks for the post. I’ve only read stories from other collections by Barrett and Saunders, but I did hear Rebecca Lee read at a literary festival when Bobcat was published and thought the story was outstanding: it added the colleciton to my TBR immediately (but, alas, books get added far more quickly than they are read…I’m sure you understand).

Leave a Reply