The Love of a Good Woman
by Alice Munro (1998)
Vintage (1999)
340 pp


It’s time for Betsy and me to move on to Munro’s ninth book, 1998’s The Love of a Good Woman. We will soon be posting our thoughts on the first story — the title story — and I wanted to get this index post up so that any of you who are interested in joining us can get the book and get started.

The Love of a Good Woman is a collection of 8 stories. This is the anchor post, an index with links to our posts on each story in the collection.

The Love of a Good Woman contains the following stories:

  • The Love of a Good Woman
  • Jakarta
  • Cortes Island
  • Save the Reaper
  • The Children Stay
  • Rich as Stink
  • Before the Change
  • My Mother’s Dream

Munro’s stories keep getting longer and, I think, more layered, if that is even possible. I hope you’ll join in!

Liked it? Take a second to support The Mookse and the Gripes on Patreon!
By |2019-02-07T22:41:01+00:00February 7th, 2019|Categories: Alice Munro, Book Reviews|Tags: , , |4 Comments


  1. Susan Roach February 8, 2019 at 4:11 am

    I will order a copy and would enjoy getting involved.

  2. Trevor Berrett February 8, 2019 at 12:36 pm

    Excellent! I look forward to anything you share, Susan!

  3. buriedinprint February 8, 2019 at 4:05 pm

    Such rewarding stories!

  4. Howard February 10, 2019 at 10:43 pm

    I’ve nearly finished the book – just the very last story to go. Am looking forward to the discussion.
    It’s been a number of years since I read the first story, the title story, which is quite an epic. Am hoping I’ll have time to re-read it again properly.
    So I’m kind of hoping you and Betsy take your time a little right now before getting started!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.