This year’s Noble Prize in Literature has been awarded to Kazuo Ishiguro, “who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world.” I have read all but two of his books, and I’ve loved several of them. Still, I didn’t see this coming!

Here is the list of Ishiguro’s work:

  • A Pale View of Hills (1982)
  • An Artist of the Floating World (1986)
  • The Remains of the Day (1989)
  • The Unconsoled (1995)
  • When We Were Orphans (2000)
  • Never Let Me Go (2005)
  • Noctures: Five Stories of Music and Nightfall (2009)
  • The Buried Giant (2015)

Ishiguro’s Booker Prize-winning The Remains of the Day is one of my favorite novels of all time. Add to that another masterpiece in The Unconsoled, and I’m very happy his work has been recognized on this scale. Unlike many others, I liked but did not love Never Let Me Go and really had a hard time seeing the magic in The Buried Giant. However, such is my esteem for Ishiguro, regardless of what comes next I plan to read it, and I am certainly willing to give all of his work another go.

Since most of his work was done before I started this blog, I have relatively few under review. From the earliest days of the site, here is my review of The Remains of the Day. And, from 2015, my disappointed (but wrong?) review of The Buried Giant.

For lots of extended coverage, go to this post at The Complete Review, where M.A. Orthofer has been and will continue to be updating his post with links.

For some discussion, well, I could recommend this thread over at The Mookse and the Gripes Goodreads page.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Mookse and the Gripes on Patreon!