They have announced the longlist for this year’s Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction. I like how The Guardian (here) listed how many novels the author has written, so I’m following suit (and basing it entirely on their reporting, so please forgive errors).

  • Outline, by Rachel Cusk (8th novel)
  • Crooked Heart, by Lissa Evans (4th novel)
  • Aren’t We Sisters?, by Patricia Ferguson (8th novel)
  • I Am China, by Xiaolu Guo (6th novel)
  • Dear Thief, by Samantha Harvey (3rd novel)
  • Elizabeth Is Missing, by Emma Healey (1st novel)
  • Station Eleven, by Emily St. John Mandel (4th novel)
  • The Offering, by Grace McGleen (3rd novel)
  • The Country of Ice Cream Star, by Sandra Newman (3rd novel)
  • The Girl Who Was Saturday Night, by Heather O’Neill (2nd novel)
  • The Bees, by Laline Paull (1st novel)
  • The Table of Less Valued Knights, by Marie Phillips (2nd novel)
  • The Walk Home, by Rachel Seiffert (3rd novel)
  • A God in Every Stone, by Kamila Shamsie (6th novel)
  • How to be both, by Ali Smith (6th novel)
  • The Shore, by Sara Taylor (1st novel)
  • A Spool of Blue Thread, by Anne Tyler (20th novel)
  • The Paying Guests, by Sarah Waters (6th novel)
  • After Before, by Jemma Wayne (1st novel)
  • The Life of a Banana, by PP Wong (1st novel)
Liked it? Take a second to support The Mookse and the Gripes on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!