The Redemption of Galen PikeThe Redemption of Galen Pike, by Welsh writer Carys Davies, has won this year’s Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award. It’s an exceptional prize with an exceptional purse: €25,000!

I offer congratulations to Ms. Davies, though I’m sad to say that I’ve read her work. This book was also among the winners of the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize, announced a few weeks ago, so obviously this is a book to look into. I’m particularly interested thanks to a blurb by Piers Plowright: “As if Mark Twain and Annie Proulx had sat down at a desk together.” Can anyone out there offer some insights into her work and career?

Here is the full list of six finalists:

  • Refund, by Karen E. Bender
  • The Redemption of Galen Pike, by Carys Davies
  • Mr. Tall: A Novella and Stories, by Tony Earley
  • Infidelities, by Kirsty Gunn
  • Crow Fair, by Thomas McGuane
  • My Documents, by Alejandro Zambra

The only book not originally written in English is Zambra’s, suggesting the prize is not quite as international as it could be, probably for several reasons, but I’m always happy to see short story collections get any recognition.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Mookse and the Gripes on Patreon!