From that incredibly long longlist the IMPAC has announced the shortlist of eight titles. The winner will be announced on June 17.

  • Zoe Heller: The Believers
  • Muriel Barbery: The Elegance of the Hedgehog
  • Ross Raisin: God’s Own Country
  • Marilynne Robinson: Home
  • Robert Edric: In Zodiac Light
  • Joseph O’Neill: Netherland
  • Christoph Hein: Settlement
  • Gerbrand Bakker: The Twin

I’ve only read two (better than last year): Netherland and The Twin. Both are excellent books. Long-time readers will remember how much I rooted for Netherland to win more 2008 literary awards. I have The Elegance of the Hedgehog and Home sitting on the shelf, always just about to be read.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Mookse and the Gripes on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!