Earlier today, the winner of the PEN/Faulkner was announced:

  • Behold the Dreamers, by Imbolo Mbue

The other finalists are:

  • After Disasters, by Viet Dinh
  • LaRose, by Louise Erdrich
  • What Belongs to You, by Garth Greenwell
  • Your Heart Is a Muscle the Size of a Fist, by Sunil Yapa

As noted in Ron Charles’s excellent write-up in The Washington Post (here), this is a mighty diverse list! The only one I’ve read is Erdrich’s LaRose, and I’m thrilled to see it getting this recognition.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Mookse and the Gripes on Patreon!